Professor T.F. Solanke

Born in Ijedu-Ode(Nigeria) on March 9th,1930, Professor Solanke’s path to the coveted post of Emeritus Professor of Surgery in the Premier University of Ibadan started from Ladi-Lak Primary School, Yaba, Lagos. He then proceeded to the famous CMS Grammar School, Lagos and later Chigwell School in Essex, England. In both schools, he demonstrated academic excellence and leadership qualities (as he was Senior Prefect). His early Medical Education was at St. Andrew’s University Medical School, in Scotland where he obtained M.B.Ch.B in 1956.

The late Professor Emeritus easily passed  the Fellowship of the Royal College of Surgeons of England in 1961. Thereafter, he was elected Fellow of the West African College of Surgeons, the international College of Surgeons and the Nigerian National Postgraduate Medical College. During his early years as a young Surgeon, he bagged many scholarships and travel fellowships to renowned academic centres in the world such as the John Hopkins University, Baltimore, the Cancer Institute, Tokyo, Japan and the Royal Adelaide Hospital, Australia. He has a meteoric rise to the chair of Surgery at the prestigious University of Ibadan, Nigeria.

The contributions of late Prof. Solanke to the West African College of Surgeons are innumerable. He worked tirelessly for the growth and development of the College. He was Hon. Treasurer of the College from 1967-1971, Secretary-General 1971-1976, President of WACS 1981-1983 and was a member of Council from 1967 till he went to rest in the Lord. The late T.F. Solanke also served many other important organizations notably, the World Health Organisation, the International Federation of Surgical Colleges and the Federal Ministry of Health of Nigeria. Until his death on September 18th, 2001, he was Chairman of the National Cancer Registry in Ibadan, Nigeria. He was a founding father of the Pan African Association of Surgeons (PAAS) and was elected the first President of PAAS in 1996.

Solanke Lecturers

2014: Professor G Julian Oettlé (Cape Town)
2014: Professor Herve Yangni-Angate ( Dar es Salaam)
2015: Professor Martin Smith (Abidjan)
2016: Professor O O Mbonu (Yaoundé)
2017: Professor Yifru Berhan (Addis Ababa)
2017: Professor Martin Veller (Johannesburg)
2018: No Lecture
2019: Professor Pankaj G Jani (Dakar)


Professor G Julian Oettlé

Professor Herve Yangni-Angate

MD(Thesis in Anatomy), Prof, FWACS, FICS, FISS

Professor KH  Yangni-Angate is an Ivorian cardio-vascular and thoracic surgeon, currently serving as professor of cardio-vascular and thoracic surgery and Chairman of the Department of Thoracic and Cardio-Vascular Surgery at Bouake Teaching Hospital and University of Bouake in Cote d’Ivoire.

Professor KH Yangni-Angate co-founded the Bouake Medical School, University of Bouake, where he created the Department of Anatomy and served as Vice- Dean. He has also served as consultant cardio-vascular and thoracic surgeon at the Institute of Cardiology in Abidjan and has been the Director of the University College of Korhogo.

Professor KH Yangni-Angate is a member of numerous national and international professional societies and co-founded the World Society for Pediatric and Congenital Heart Surgery, the African Association of Thoracic and Cardio-Vascular Surgeons, and the Ivorian Society of Thoracic and Cardio-Vascular Surgeons. He was a Bellagio Commissioner for Lancet Commission on Global Surgery and member of the Interim board of Directors-The G4 Alliance.

He was also President of the West-African College of Surgeons; is the current President of the Pan-African Association of Surgeons, the current President of the African Association of Thoracic and Cardio-Vascular Surgeons and of the Ivorian Society of Cardio-Vascular and Thoracic Surgeons.

Professor Martin Smith

Professor O O Mbonu

H.E. Professor Yifru Berhan

H.E.-Professor-Yifru-BerhanH.E Professor Yifru Berhan is Minister of Health of the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia and a medical doctor with a specialty in Obstetrics and Gynecology.

Since graduating from a medical school in 1997, H.E. Professor Yifru has served as a medical practitioner in the most remote areas of Ethiopia, culminating in 2015, as Dean of College of Health Sciences of Addis Ababa University with the rank of vice president. Such a wide ranging sustained experiences and accomplished academic credentials have provided the necessary depth and breadth for him to be appointed as Minister to provide leadership to the vibrant and internationally recognized Ethiopia’s health sector transformation plan.

H.E. Professor Yifru’s contributions to Ethiopia’s health sector development has spanned, both in health service delivery and academic settings, and have resulted in major contributions to fighting and mitigating disease outbreaks, scaling up of health service and medical education.

H.E. Professor Yifru is committed to public services and to ensuring the delivery of quality and equitable services to all regardless their station in life.

As an accomplished researcher, his passion to public service and promotion of health delivery systems is reflected in over 70 articles he has published in reputable and refereed national and international journals.

Professor Martin Veller





  • MB.BCh., FCS(SA), M.Med(Surg) – (May 2017)
  • Dean, Faculty of Health Sciences, University of the Witwatersrand (July 2014)
  • Professor, Department of Surgery, University of the Witwatersrand (since 2002).
  • Previously Head, Vascular Surgery division, Johannesburg teaching hospitals (January 1993 – June 2014) and academic head, Department of Surgery at the University of the Witwatersrand (November 2001 – February 2013).
  • Member, board of directors of Wits Donald Gordon Medical Centre and Nelson Mandela Children’s Hospital Operational Company
  • Chairman of board of directors, Wits Health Consortium.


  • General surgical training at the University of Witwatersrand (1987).
  • Vascular surgical research unit fellowship, St. Mary’s hospital, Imperial College, London (1990-1991).


Ad hominum professor, April 2002.

Published 82 scientific papers in peer reviewed journals, 20 book chapters, edited 7 books, 17 non-peer reviewed scientific articles. More than 130 invited congress presentations. Associate Editor, International Angiology until 2006. Editorial board of the South African Journal of Surgery. Regular reviewer for the European Journal of Vascular and Endovascular Surgery and other journals.


  • Past Secretary, Treasurer and President of the Vascular Society of Southern Africa.
  • Founding Secretary-general and Past-president, World Federation of Vascular Societies (this recently formed society is the first to unify the world of vascular surgical societies).
  • President, College of Surgeons of the Colleges of Medicine of South Africa
  • Past-chairman, Association of Surgeons of South Africa and past-secretary-general, Federation of South African Surgeons.
  • Past-chairman, board of HMPG, the publishing company of the South African Medical Association. Past-president Gauteng branch of the South African Medical Association
  • Honorary member Vascular Society of Great Britain and Ireland


Member of the Medical and Dental Board of the Health Professions Council of South Africa (appointed by Universities South Africa)

Previous chairman of the Parents Association and current member of Council, St. John’s College, Johannesburg.